BIFA Nominations 2013 - Raindance


Here they are folks! The nominations were announced by Ewan McGregor at 12:30 today at the St. Martin’s Lane Hotel.

The winners were announced at a star-studded event in Old Billingsgate Fish Market in central London on Sunday December 8th. The are marked with *** below. Now go see each of these films. They are all uniquely wonderful.


Best British Independent FilmBIFA

***Metro Manila
The Selfish Giant
Starred Up
Le Week-end

Best Director

Jon S Baird – Filth
Clio Barnard – The Selfish Giant
***Sean Ellis – Metro Manila
Jonathan Glazer – Under the Skin
David Mackenzie – Starred Up

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director)

Charlie Cattrall – Titus
Tina Gharavi – I Am Nasrine
Jeremy Lovering – In Fear
Omid Nooshin – Last Passenger
***Paul Wright – For Those In Peril

Best Screenplay

Jonathan Asser – Starred Up
Clio Barnard – The Selfish Giant
***Steven Knight – Locke
Hanif Kureishi – Le Week-end
Jeff Pope, Steve Coogan – Philomena

Best Actress

Judi Dench – Philomena
***Lindsay Duncan – Le Week-end
Scarlett Johansson – Under the Skin
Felicity Jones – The Invisible Woman
Saoirse Ronan – How I Live Now

Best Actor

Jim Broadbent – Le Week-end
Steve Coogan – Philomena
Tom Hardy – Locke
Jack O’Connell – Starred Up
***James McAvoy – Filth

Best Supporting Actress

Siobhan Finneran – The Selfish Giant
Shirley Henderson – Filth
***Imogen Poots – The Look Of Love
Kristin Scott Thomas – The Invisible Woman
Mia Wasikowska – The Double

Best Supporting Actor

John Arcilla – Metro Manila
Rupert Friend – Starred Up
Jeff Goldblum – Le Week-end
Eddie Marsan – Filth
***Ben Mendelsohn – Starred Up

Most Promising Newcomer

Harley Bird – How I Live Now
Conner Chapman / Shaun Thomas – The Selfish Giant
Caity Lotz – The Machine
Jake Macapagal – Metro Manila
***Chloe Pirrie – Shell

Best Achievement In Production

A Field in England
***Metro Manila
The Selfish Giant
Starred Up

Best Technical Achievement

Shaheen Baig – Casting – Starred Up
Johnnie Burn – Sound Design – Under the Skin
***Amy Hubbard – Casting – The Selfish Giant
Mica Levi – Music – Under the Skin
Justine Wright – Editing – Locke

Best Documentary

***Pussy Riot – A Punk Prayer
The Great Hip Hop Hoax
The Moo Man
The Spirit of ’45
The Stone Roses: Made of Stone

Best British Short

Dr Easy
Dylan’s Room

Best International Independent Film

***Blue is the Warmest Colour
Blue Jasmine
Frances Ha
The Great Beauty

The Raindance Award

Everyone’s Going to Die
***The Machine
The Patrol
Sleeping Dogs

Awards TBA:

The Richard Harris Award
(for outstanding contribution by an actor to British Film)
– Julie Walters
The Variety Award
– Paul Greengrass
The Special Jury Prize
– Team Loach

The Jury:

Jury Chair – Penny Woolcock (Director), Antonia Campbell-Hughes (Actress), Art Malik (Actor), Ate de Jong (Director), Bart Layton (Director), James Floyd (Actor),  Jill McCullough (Dialect Coach), Julien Temple (Director), Liza Marshall (Producer), MyAnna Buring (Actress), Natascha McElhone (Actress), Pippa Harris (Producer), Roland Gift (Musician), Sally El Hosaini (Director), Sandy Powell (Costume Designer), Steve Hamilton Shaw (Producer).

The Awards will take place on the 8th December at Old Billingsgate, hosted by James Nesbitt.

Check out Raindance’s archive of photos from the event here!




Raindance aims to promote and support independent filmmaking and filmmakers.

From new and emerging to industry pros, Raindance connects, trains, supports, and promotes visual storytellers through every step of their career.

The Raindance Film Festival runs each Autumn in London's Leicester Square.

Raindance has been delivering film training since 1992. A wide range of Open Classes to a 2 year HND Level 5 BTEC in Moving Images to a Postgraduate Film Degree are delivered to students on five continents, both in person and online.