The 25th Raindance Film Festival in partnership with Lexus announced this year’s Festival Awards’ winners at its awards ceremony at the May Fair Hotel on 29 September.

This year, Raindance Film Festival received a record-breaking number of submissions from over 120 countries and screened more than 200 projects, including features, shorts, music videos, web series and VR experiences. 2017 saw the introduction of the Raindance VRX Awards, celebrating pioneering VR experiences by independent creators from across the world.

A champion of independent filmmaking, Raindance aims to honour the best of indie cinema from across the world. Award winners were chosen by our amazing Jury, which consists of some of the best names in British talent, including Sean Bean (Game of Thrones) and Celia Imrie (The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel). Read on to see the full list of winners.


In Competition

Best Film

The Constitution

WINNER: The Constitution (dir. Rajko Grlic)

Hello Again (dir. Tom Gustafson)

The Traveller (dir. Hadi Ghandour)

Swaying Mariko (dir. Koji Segawa)

Mukoku (dir. Kazuyoshi Kumakiri)

Noise (dir. Yusaku Matsumoto)

Maya Dardel (dir. Zachary Cotler & Magdalena Zyzak)

High & Outside: A Baseball Noir (dir. Evald Johnson)

Black Hollow Cage (dir. Sadrac González-Perellón)

Djam (dir. Tony Gatlif)

Best Director

WINNERMaya Dardel (dir. Zachary Cotler & Magdalena Zyzak)

Hello Again (dir. Tom Gustafson)

The Traveller (dir. Hadi Ghandour)

Mukoku (dir. Kazuyoshi Kumakiri)

Djam (dir. Tony Gatlif)

Best Screenplay

WINNER: The Constitution (written by Rajko Grlic and Ante Tomić)

Hello Again (written by Cory Krueckeberg)

High & Outside: A Baseball Noir (written by Dan O’Dair)

Black Hollow Cage (written by Sadrac González-Perellón)

Swaying Mariko (written by Koji Segawa)

Best Performance

WINNER: The Constitution – Nebojša Glogovac (dir. Rajko Grlic)

Black Hollow Cage – Lowena McDonell (dir. Sadrac González-Perellón)

Djam – Daphne Patakia (dir. Tony Gatlif)

The Traveller – Rodrigue Sleiman (dir. Hadi Ghandour)

Maya Dardel – Lena Olin (dir. Zachary Cotler & Magdalena Zyzak)


Best UK Feature

In Another Life

WINNERIn Another Life (dir. Jason Wingard)

The Dark Mile (dir. Gary Love)

Edie (dir. Simon Hunter)

Stooge (dir. Madeleine Farley)

Isolani (dir. R. Paul Wilson)

Best Documentary Feature

WINNERRiverBlue: Can Fashion Save the Planet? (David McIlvride & Roger Williams)

Bluefin (dir. John Hopkins)

Home Truth (dir. April Hayes & Katia Maguire)

On Yoga: The Architecture of Peace (dir. Heitor Dhalia)

SPECIAL JURY MENTION:The Family I Had (dir, Katie Green & Carlye Rubin)

Speak Up (dir. Stéphane de Freitas & Ladj Ly)

Discovery Award

WINNERI Still Hide to Smoke (dir. Rayhana)

A Trip to the Moon (dir. Joaquín Cambre)

Children of the Night (dir. Andrea de Sica)

Scaffolding (dir. Matan Yair)

The Story of a Satellite (dir. Sonia Albert-Sobrino & Miriam Albert-Sobrino)



Best Short of the Festival



WINNER: Game (dir. Jeannie Donohoe)

SPECIAL JURY MENTION: Viola, Franca (dir. Marta Savina)

Lethe (dir. Dea Kulumbegahsvili)

Goddess (dir. Karishma Dube)

Mixtape Marauders (dir. Peter Edlund)

Best UK Short

WINNER: Cla’am (dir. Nathaniel Martello-White)

Diagnosis (dir. Eva Riley)

Wild Horses (dir. Rory Alexander Stewart)

Work (dir. Aneil Karia)

46.0 (dir. Joseph A. Adesunloye)

Best Documentary Short

WINNERRiders of the Well of Death (dir. Erik Morales)

American Psychosis (dir. Amanda Zackem)

Without Sun (dir. Paul de Ruijter)

My Deadly, Beautiful City (dir. Victoria Fiore)

Ink, Cocks & Rock’n’Roll (dir. Matt Harlock)

Best Animation Short

WINNER: Flutter (dir. Vladimir Todorov)

White Tunnel (dir. Lan-Chi Chien & Chin-Wei Chang)

Johnnos’s Dead (dir. Chris Shepherd)

Nocturne (dir. Anne Breymann)

Notes on Monstropedia (dir. Koji Yamamura)

Best of Music Video

WINNERTerror (dir. Joseph Armario)

Everybody (dir. Benjamin Roberds)

The Wolf (dir. Ezequiel Torres, Pablo Rafael Roldán & Fer Suniga)

Don’t Pull Away (dir. Tamar Glezerman)

The Strangle of Anna (dir. Dawn Shadforth)


VRX Awards

Best Cinematic Narrative VR Experience


WINNERAlteration (by Jérôme Blanquet and OKIO-Studio)

Broken Night (by Alon Benari and Tal Zubalsky)

The Tragic Story of Betty Corrigall (by Peter Boyd Maclean and the BBC)

UTURN (by Nathalie Mathe)

Best Documentary VR Experience

WINNER: First Impressions (by Francesca Panetta, Nicole Jackson and the Guardian VR)

Iranian Kurdish Female Fighters (by Namak Khoshnaw and the BBC)

Songs of Vine (by Maira Clancy and Blake Montgomery)

¡Viva La Evolución! (by Fifer Garbesi)

Best Interactive Narrative VR Experience

WINNER: Manifest 99 (by Flight School Studio)

Life of Us (by Chris Milk, Aaron Koblin and Within)

Ray (by Future Lighthouse)

Treehugger: Wawona (by Marshmallow Laser Feast)

Best Mobile Interactive VR Experience

WINNER: Virtual Virtual Reality (by Tender Claws)

The Unfinished (by Innerspace VR)

In the Eyes of the Animal (by Marshmallow Laser Feast)

Horizons (by Horizons Music)

Best Animation VR Experience

WINNER: Dear Angelica (by Wesley Allsbrook and Saschka Unseld)

Arden’s Wake: The Prologue (by Eugene Chung and Penrose Studios)

Rain or Shine (by Nexus Studios)

Song of the Sea (by Cartoon Saloon)

Best Music VR Experience

WINNER: Beethoven’s Fifth (by Jessica Brillhart)

Mind Enterprises: Chapita (by Nexus Studios)

Peroration Six (by Floating Points)

Reeps One: Does Not Exist (by Reeps One, The Mill and Aurelia Soundworks)

Best Branded VR Experience

WINNER: The Chainsmokers Paris VR (by Brynley Gibson and Russ Harding)

Manchester City – Match Day (by JAUNT VR)

Snatch VR Heist Experience (by Sony Pictures Television Networks and Future Lighthouse)

Welcome To Laphroaig (by East City Films / VR City)

Best Sensual VR Experience

WINNER: Through You (by Lily Baldwin and Saschka Unseld)

Second Date (by Jennifer Lyon Bell)

In My Shoes: Intimacy (by Jane Gauntlett and Andrew Somerville)

Come! (by Michel Reilhac)

Best Social Impact VR Experience

WINNER: Munduruku: The Fight to Defend the Heart of the Amazon (by Greenpeace)

42 Days (by Animal Equality)

Aftershock: Nepal’s Untold Water Story (by WaterAid)

You Are There. On the road to ending Polio (by Unicef)

Best Sound Design VR Experience

WINNER: Reeps One: Does Not Exist (by Aurelia Soundworks and Reeps One)

Life of Us (by Within)

The Resistance of Honey (by Peter Boyd Maclean, Bioni Samp and BBC)

The Tragic Story of Betty Corrigall (by Peter Boyd Maclean and BBC)

Special Prize Winner: Best Storytelling in #VR

Arden’s Wake

WINNER: Arden’s Wake (by Eugene Chung and Penrose Studios)




Raindance aims to promote and support independent filmmaking and filmmakers.

From new and emerging to industry pros, Raindance connects, trains, supports, and promotes visual storytellers through every step of their career.

The Raindance Film Festival runs each Autumn in London's Leicester Square.

Raindance has been delivering film training since 1992. A wide range of Open Classes to a 2 year HND Level 5 BTEC in Moving Images to a Postgraduate Film Degree are delivered to students on five continents, both in person and online.