2014 Moët British Independent Film Awards Nominations - Raindance
BIFA indie film

The 2014 Moët British Independent Film Awards December 7th 2014

The nominations for the 2014 MBIFA’s were announced at noon on Monday November 3rd at a glittering invite-only reception at the St Martin’s Lane Hotel. Read the press here:

The breadth and quality of the British films selected this year suggests a bumper year for British films. Raindance congratulates all the talented filmmakers whose wonderful films make up this year’s MBIFA nominations. Elliot Grove, founder

MBIFA awards films and filmmakers in these categories. The winners will be announced on December 7th in London

MBIFABest Moët British Independent Film

Sponsored by Moët & Chandon



Mr Turner


The Imitation Game

Best Director

Sponsored by AllCity & Intermission

John Michael McDonagh – Calvary

Lenny Abrahamson – Frank

Matthew Warchus – Pride

Mike Leigh – Mr Turner

Yann Demange  – ’71

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director)

Sponsored by 3 Mills Studios

Daniel Wolfe, Matthew Wolfe – Catch Me Daddy

Hong Khaou – Lilting

Iain Forsyth, Jane Pollard – 20,000 Days on Earth

Morgan Matthews – X+Y

Yann Demange –  ’71

Best Screenplay

Sponsored by BBC Films

Graham Moore – The Imitation Game

Gregory Burke  – ’71

John Michael McDonagh – Calvary

Jon Ronson, Peter Straughan – Frank

Stephen Beresford – Pride

Best Actress

Sponsored by M.A.C Cosmetics

Alicia Vikander – Testament of Youth

Cheng Pei Pei – Lilting

Gugu Mbatha-Raw – Belle

Keira Knightley – The Imitation Game

Sameena Jabeen Ahmed – Catch Me Daddy

Best Actor

Sponsored by Movado

Asa Butterfield  – X+Y

Benedict Cumberbatch – The Imitation Game

Brendan Gleeson – Calvary

Jack O’Connell – ’71

Timothy Spall – Mr Turner

Best Supporting Actress

Dorothy Atkinson – Mr Turner

Imelda Staunton – Pride

Maggie Gyllenhaal – Frank

Sally Hawkins – X+Y

Sienna Guillory – The Goob

Best Supporting Actor

Sponsored by St Martins Lane

Andrew Scott – Pride

Ben Schnetzer – Pride

Michael Fassbender – Frank

Rafe Spall – X+Y

Sean Harris – ‘71

 Most Promising Newcomer

Ben Schnetzer – Pride

Cara Delevingne – The Face of An Angel

Gugu Mbatha-Raw – Belle

Liam Walpole – The Goob

Sameena Jabeen Ahmed – Catch Me Daddy

Best Achievement In Production


20,000 Days on Earth

Catch Me Daddy


The Goob

Best Technical Achievement

Chris Wyatt – Editing – ’71

Dick Pope – Cinematography – Mr Turner

Robbie Ryan – Cinematography – Catch Me Daddy

Stephen Rennicks – Music – Frank

Tat Radcliffe – Cinematography – ’71

Best Documentary

20,000 Days on Earth

Next Goal Wins

Night Will Fall

The Possibilities Are Endless


Best British Short


Emotional Fusebox

Keeping Up With The Joneses


The Kármán Line

Best International Independent Film

Blue Ruin


Fruitvale Station


The Badadook

The Raindance Award

Flim: The Movie…



Keeping Rosy

The Beat Beneath My Feet

Awards TBA:

The Richard Harris Award

The Variety Award

The Special Jury Prize



Raindance aims to promote and support independent filmmaking and filmmakers.

From new and emerging to industry pros, Raindance connects, trains, supports, and promotes visual storytellers through every step of their career.

The Raindance Film Festival runs each Autumn in London's Leicester Square.

Raindance has been delivering film training since 1992. A wide range of Open Classes to a 2 year HND Level 5 BTEC in Moving Images to a Postgraduate Film Degree are delivered to students on five continents, both in person and online.